gardening and grandparents

The kid and I decided to get out of the city for a little bit so we hopped on a train and went to spend the weekend with her grandparents.  Living in an apartment, in the center of a huge city, it’s nice to be able to escape to the ‘burbs and back yards every now and then.

I just sat back sipped coffee and watched as her grandparents took her into the garden to pick raspberries, pears, peas and tomatoes, plant lettuce and dig in the dirt.  They read to her, they played with her, they splashed around in the kiddie pool together.

I think we both needed that.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “gardening and grandparents

  1. The pictures show a child who is still connected to the Earth and Gaia’s plant creations – what a gift you have given her, and yourself, by letting her get dirty and connecting with her grandparents. She will also associate them with peace, abundance, freedom, play and good food. Such beautiful photos.

  2. I’m so glad she had fun, and I can relate! Is it wrong that I’m looking forward to S. and Miss M. spending 2 days at their grandparents’ without me while I pack??

Leave a Reply

