outta sight, but not out of mind

There are many wonderful things about living in student family housing:  The community, the kids, the proximity to the university, but mostly the friends I’ve made, which also brings me to the trouble with it:  Friends leave.  They finish school and get jobs and move.  To another city or country, or even another continent!  It can be really hard to say goodbye to a good friend, no matter how near or far they may go, because you get used to seeing them almost everyday, you like running into them, having tea and play dates, and really good talks, and you go through an I-don’t-want-to-make-anymore-friends-because-it’s-just-gonna-suck-when-they-leave phase, but then you realize that’s ridiculous and you don’t really stop talking to new people for fear that they may one day move too, and you know that you’re still friends even though they don’t live across the street or down the hall.   At that point, it may take a bit more work to keep in touch, but a good friend it more than worth the effort, and I’m in it for the long haul.

2 thoughts on “outta sight, but not out of mind

  1. I’m in it for the long haul too. M. asked me why I was so quiet in the car yesterday. I didn’t say anything until we were passing the airport. I told him it was because I just didn’t know what to do with myself this week. Normally, we’d make several playdates and see each other every day. Now. . . .I don’t know what to do….

Leave a Reply

