the heart grows fonder..

He’s back.  The kid is beyond thrilled to have her Dad home.  Since the moment he came through the gate at the airport, she hasn’t let him out of her sight.  I’ve probably heard her little mouth spout “I love you daddy” 95472 times in less than 24 hours.  Their reunion couldn’t have been more lovely.

Yesterday morning, she handed me her daddy doll and informed me she wouldn’t be needing it anymore.  Real Dad was coming home today.  I had been so worried about how Izzy would adjust to having her dad home after 7 weeks away, I forgot about how it would be for me.  Don’t get me wrong, I love that he’s back, I’m just as thrilled as Izzy, but after almost 2 months apart, I think it’s going to take a little bit of work getting back to some sort of regularity.  I feel like I’ve become a better parent having had to do it alone for those few weeks, but am going to have to get used to being someones partner again.   But right now, I think it’s okay for all of us to just coast on reunion bliss.

We’ve lived very different lifestyles for the last 7 weeks.  I’ve been here at home with the kiddo, frequenting the wading pool and playgrounds, whereas he’s been in the desert digging for buried treasure (so to speak) and traveling the near east (with some layovers in Paris – I was lucky enough to have been brought some french pastries, and though a little battered from a 6 hour plane trip, were still amazing).  And not that I’m not happy with my life the way it is here, I love it,  it’s just different.  At least we have a lot of stories, both to hear and tell.

And next year, fingers crossed, we can go too.

2 thoughts on “the heart grows fonder..

Leave a Reply

